Writing on the Go…

Posted on Updated on

It’s just after 8 p.m. I’m on my lunch break at work (yes, at 8 in the evening…long story). As I eat my spinach wrap and contemplate the intricacies of the universe, I start to think about writing and blogging.

First of all, I haven’t blogged in ages. Almost a year. I haven’t written anything substantial, either. Don’t ask me why, I have no idea.

writing_on_phone

Wait, that’s a lie. I know exactly why: I got lazy. Complacent. Sedentary. A stone at the bottom of a lake.  A dilemma which I will detail in a future post.

But as I feel, once again, that long lost spark of creativity, I find myself looking to my phone to get those creative juices flowing.  I mean, it’s here, in my hand.  My WordPress app is one tap away, after all.

Which leads me to wonder: why not write on the go? I don’t know about you, but I tend to be that writer who needs a stable place to sit and write – my computer, a desk and chair, a cup of coffee by my side – and rarely do I take advantage of my WordPress blog via my tablet or, as I am now, my phone.  What’s more confounding is that it’s so easy I’m lost on why I don’t use it more often.

So, as my lunch comes to a close (more quickly than expected thanks to the obnoxious 24-year old regaling me with stories of his female conquests, like I give a crap), I’d like to ask this: Are you able to write on the go?  Do you take advantage of technology when you write? Do you find it satisfying? Does it affect how you write? I’d love to know your thoughts.

Let me know!

S

P.S. That is not a picture of me.  I should look so good in glasses.  Nope, it’s just a stock image of a guy on his phone.  I imagine he’s writing.  Or tweeting.  Okay, fine, let’s face it, he’s on Pinterest.

2 thoughts on “Writing on the Go…

    jballam said:
    February 11, 2015 at 5:07 am

    Yes, I try. If I’m on the LA. Subway, for my blog or story ideas, I’ll use Evernote on my phone, or my tablet if I’m lounging around the house. If I’m on my laptop, I’ll write directly in my blog website. But, to get a really good flow going I prefer the most marvelous technological tool, a pen in hand.

      seanpfarley responded:
      February 11, 2015 at 5:39 am

      Thanks for responding, Jeff. I, too, prefer a pen and paper!

Leave a Reply

