Process?

Posted on Updated on

So, fellow writers, I’m curious about your process. More specifically, your “rotation,” if you will.

I tend to work on several short pieces at the same time, but obsess over getting ONE finished, so that my other work suffers, my novel as well.

How do you work this out? Do you focus on one thing, including edit and rewrite, then you call it a day?

Or do you work on several things at once, going back to each piece as necessary?

Or do you have your own, unique take on how to get work completed?

I’d love to hear what you have to say!

3 thoughts on “Process?

    Julie Frayn said:
    January 8, 2014 at 1:28 pm

    I don’t know if what I do can be called a process. It’s cliche, but I write where the inspiration is. I have two novels and a short story collection on the go, but am focusing now on completing one novel by end of January to get to my editor. February will be short story writing, then March is doing novel edits and publishing. Then we’ll see… probably tackle the other draft novel, or maybe do a nano camp. In the meantime, if another light bulb shows up over my head, I’ll veer off and do another short story. Which could be why this novel is taking forEVER to get finished… πŸ™‚

      seanpfarley responded:
      January 12, 2014 at 4:52 pm

      Julie, it sure is nice that you have a schedule like that! I know that I have one simple task that will change everything: to write down a schedule. But I’m lazy. I’d rather work on a short story than write a schedule! I must persevere, though! Thanks for the reply. πŸ˜‰

    Alina Oswald said:
    January 20, 2015 at 2:08 pm

    Hi Sean,

    Thanks for asking. It makes me think about my own “process.” Actually, it is a workflow, a process. I write nonfiction, and I have deadlines. As a side note, I find deadlines one of those things I cannot live without. (you know, you don’t necessarily like them, but you need them because otherwise you wouldn’t finish anything). I’m often overwhelmed, especially when I have a few articles on my plate and no idea how to start any of them, and deadlines are staring me in the face. What I do, I take a very deep breath first, lol! and then start with one (article). It depends on deadlines, too. Start with one article/short story/whatever you’re writing. And pick one that you feel like writing that day. Depending on available time, write until you find yourself at a good point to stop, or I should say…stopping point (write a chapter, for example, if you write a novel, or write a first draft of a short story and get it out of your system; it’s much easier to edit something already written than a blank page, or that’s how I feel about it; write that first draft and don’t stop to edit, or at least that’s what I do, because it doesn’t break/interrupt the flow; edit the next day). When you are done, take a break or you can write something else, or just brainstorm ideas, do/write something completely different. You’d be surprise of how inspiring that is, brainstorming, that is, or doing something completely different. And again, I find deadlines (work-related or self-imposed) very useful. If I don’t give myself a deadline, there’s no way I finish (or even start) anything.

    Hope all is well.

    Also, btw, I’m on WP, too, these days, working on two sites. Still trying to figure it out, lol!

    Keep writing! Love your posts! πŸ™‚
    Alina

Leave a Reply

